Skip to Content

Faculty

The Humanities Lab prides itself on collaborating with a diverse range of interdisciplinary faculty.

Spring 2020

Energy and Social Justice

 
Gary Dirks 
Dr. Dirks is senior director, Global Futures Laboratory, and director of LightWorks®, an Arizona State University initiative that capitalizes on ASU’s strengths in solar energy and other light-inspired research.    Garydirks@asu.edu

 
Christopher Jones 
Dr. Jones is an assistant professor of history in the School of Historical, Philosophical, and Religious Studies. He is currently working on a book analyzing the relationships between natural resources and economic theories of growth over the past century and a half.   Cjones36@asu.edu  

Life without Earth

 
Joshua Loughman 
Joshua Loughman is a graduate student in the School for the Future of Innovation in Society. His expertise areas include humanitarian engineering design and energy and sustainability. His research interests include Space Policy, Sustainable Engineering, and Future studies.    Joshua.loughman@asu.edu  

 
Adam Nocek 
Adam Nocek is an assistant professor in the philosophy of technology and science and technology studies in the School of Arts, Media, and Engineering. He is also the founding director of the Center for Philosophical Technologies at ASU.   Adam.nocek@asu.edu  

Sound and Well-Being

 
Mary Margaret Fonow 
Dr. Fonow, professor of women and gender studies, was named founding director of the School of Social Transformation in 2008. Her research interests include transnational labor activism, women and work in the global economy and feminist methodology.   Marymargaret.fonow@asu.edu  

Kimberly Marshall 
A world-renown organist and teacher, Marshall is known for her creative programming. She plays both historical and modern instruments and is a consultant for the Musical Instrument Museum (MIM) in Phoenix.   Kimberly.marshall@asu.edu  

Working Bodies and Technology

 
Grisha Coleman 
Dr. Coleman is a time-based artist working in performance and experiential media. Her work explores relationships between physiological, technological and ecological systems.   Grisha.coleman@asu.edu  

 
Christy Spackman 
Christy Spackman is an assistant professor in the School for the Future of Innovation in Society and the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts. She studies the environmental and social impact of scientific and technological efforts to manipulate sensory experiences of smelling and tasting.   Christy.spackman@asu.edu  

Spring 2019

Facing Immigration II

Alexander Avina 
Dr. Aviña is an associate professor of Latin American history in the School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies at Arizona State University. His current research project explores the links between the political economy of narcotics, drug wars, and state violence in 1960s and 70s Mexico. Alexander.avina@asu.edu

Emir Estrada 
Dr. Estrada is a qualitative immigration scholar interested in the migration an incorporation aspect of immigrants from Latin America. Her research interests in immigration and gender are influenced in great part by her own immigration experience.   Emir.estrada@asu.edu  

The Future of Cars

 
David King 
Dr. David King researches the codependence of transportation and land use planning along with transportation finance and economics. His current research focuses on taxi and jitney services, informal transit, street design, and how new technologies affect transportation finance and local policy.   David.a.king@asu.edu  

 
Thaddeus Miller 
Dr. Thaddeus Miller is an associate professor at the School for the Future of Innovation in Society and The Polytechnic School. He also co-directs the Center for Smart Cities and Regions. He collaborates with interdisciplinary teams of researchers and practitioners to enable cities to leverage science and technology to meet policy goals and community needs.    Thaddeus.miller@asu.edu  

Rebuilding Puerto Rico

Elizabeth Brake 
Dr. Brake is an Associate Professor of Philosophy. Her research is primarily in ethics and political philosophy. She is currently working on a project in disaster response.    Elizabeth.brake@asu.edu  

 
Jose Lobo 
Dr. Lobo is interested in determinants of metropolitan economic performance and location-specific economic growth; the application of machine learning, data mining and spatial statistics methods to the study of socioeconomic data; causes and consequences of urban size and scale; and how the characteristics of individuals, organizations, institutions and social networks interact to create “regions of innovation.”   Jose.lobo@asu.edu  

Fall 2018

Facing Immigration I

Christiane Reves 
Christiane Reves is an instructor and lower-division coordinator in the German group at the School of International Letters and Cultures. Her primary research interests are migration, networks and culture transfer.    Creves@asu.edu  

 
Sujey Vega 
Dr. Vega is an Associate Professor of Women and Gender Studies and affiliate faculty member in the School of Transborder Studies and Religious Studies at Arizona State University. Her research explores the everyday lived experiences of Latina/os in the U.S. By looking to moments of belonging, she traces the way Latina/os make their own notion of home in the U.S.    Sujey.vega@asu.edu  

Re-Envisioning Food Systems

 
Joan McGregor 
Dr. McGregor is a professor of Philosophy in the School of Historical, Philosophical, and Religious Studies. Her current research interests are focused on a number of questions in moral and legal philosophy.    j.mcgregor@asu.edu  

Juliann Vitullo 
Dr. Vitullo is an associate professor of Italian studies. She currently is researching the history and culture of the Mediterranean diet and lifestyle in Italy, strategies used for maintaining it in Italian communities, and possible ways to adapt to it to our local food system.    Jullian.vitullo@asu.edu 

Spring 2018

Sexual Violence

Lizbett Benge
Lizbett is a performance artist, trained actor, playwright, and doula. Lizbett researches the strategies for survival that those who’ve aged out of the foster care system employ in their everyday lives.   ljbenge@asu.edu

Alesha Durfee
Dr. Durfee’s research and teaching focus on domestic violence, social policy, and structural intersectionality, including mandatory arrest policies and civil protection orders. She has led the School of Social Transformation’s Clothesline Project since 2014.    alesha.durfee@asu.edu

Health Humanities

Marlon Bailey
Dr. Bailey’s research focuses on the intersections between race, gender and sexuality. Professor Bailey is currently conducting an ethnographic study of the impact of the HIV/AIDS epidemic on Black gay subjectivity. marlon.bailey@asu.edu

Jason Bruner
Dr. Bruner is a scholar of religion with a particular interest in the histories of Christian missions, European imperialism, and the growth of Christianity in Sub-Saharan Africa in the 19th and 20th centuries.    jason.bruner.1@asu.edu

Spring 2017

Health Humanities

Cora Fox
Dr. Fox is Associate Professor and Director of the Literature Program in the Department of English. Her current work focuses on the cultural histories and politics of positive emotions and well-being, as well as the role of fiction in shaping notions of care and community, particularly their exclusions.  cora.fox@asu.edu

Sustaining Humans

Karen Bruhn
Dr. Bruhn is a Dean’s Fellow and Honors faculty fellow in Barrett. Her field is late medieval and early modern European religious development, with an emphasis in Tudor and Jacobean England.  karen.bruhn@asu.edu

Sally Kitch
Dr. Kitch is University and Regents Professor of women’s and gender studies. Professor Kitch’s research focuses on gender and feminism through the analysis of a wide range of social and cultural narratives, including historical documents, political texts, and philosophical and religious treatises.     sally.kitch@asu.edu